close
google-search-840×560

In today’s world you just cannot escape the grasp of . The web giants are almost involved in everything we do on the internet and they also store all the internet history that goes through any of their products or services.

However they are very transparent about you data and let you know everything they have and even allow you to delete what they know about you, if you choose so.

Should you delete your Google history and data?

It is understandable that if a company knows so much about you it can be concerning and you would want to delete your Google history due to privacy concerns.

Google-Data-Center

But while clearing your Google history may help you sleep better at night, it will also aggravate your online experience during your waking hours. This is because Google utilizes all this data to make things more convenient for you.

How to look at your Google data

Taking a look at everything Google knows about you is pretty simple. All you have to do is go to Google’s history page. If you are signed into your Google account, you will be presented with all your information.

google-web-app-history-840x347

There are multiple sections in this page. Here they are:

  • Web & App History
  • Voice & Audio Activity
  • Device Information
  • Location History
  • YouTube Watch History
  • YouTube Search History

Look through them – there’s actually pretty interesting stuff in there. I love looking at my history, for example. Google seriously knows where you have been at all times. It’s interesting to look at the maps with all your locations… but it is also a bit freaky.

How to disable your Google history

Maybe you don’t want to delete your history forever. You just want it to stay inactive for a while, then reactivate it to keep enjoying everything Google has to offer. If this is the case, you can simply disable it and be on your way.

  • Go to your Google history page from any browser.
  • Click on the data section you want disabled. (e.g. Location History).
  • Select the 3-dot button located on the top-right corner of the page.
  • Select “Settings”.
  • You will find a switch next to the writing “Your searches and browsing activity”. Toggle it off.
  • You will get a warning telling you some information about what this action may cause.
  • Select “Pause” if you still want to go through with this.
  • Repeat the process for each of the history sections you want to disable. Or from any of the Settings pages, select “SHOW MORE CONTROLS” and toggle them all off.
activity-controls-840x390

How to delete your Google history

Now, if you are sure of what you are doing and really want it all gone, here are the necessary steps for deleting all your Google data.

  • Go to your the Google history page from any browser.
  • Click on the data section you want disabled. (e.g. Location History).
  • Select the 3-dot menu button located on the top-right corner of the page.
  • Select “Delete options”.
  • You can pick whether you want to delete data from today or yesterday. Selecting “Advanced” will allow you to delete the past 4 weeks of activity. But if you really want every single trace of information to disappear you can choose “All time”.
  • Make your selection and click on “Delete”.
  • Confirm your selection.
  • Repeat the process for each of the history sections you want to delete.
delete-google-840x395

Wrapping up

It should also be noted that deleting your history won’t make you completely invisible to Google. If you have a Google account to use services like Gmail, YouTube or any others, you’re being tracked. For more information on delete your Google account, head to our guide here.

 

Tags : Googlehow to
Nooruddin Ahmed

The author Nooruddin Ahmed

An avid football fan. Lives for the weekend game.Aviation enthusiast. Believes in letting bygones be bygones.

Leave a Response